Monbijou Park

From Caste to...

All images are author's unless otherwise noted

The original Monbijou Castle was left mostly in ruins after World War II and never rebuilt, finally removed in 1959

Image Source

A little over seven acres and the site of Monbijou Castle until 1959, Monbijou Park is an open area that connects Museum Island, the always busy Hackescher Markt, and the surrounding neighborhoods. The park boasts sport areas for soccer, basketball, and table tennis; a public swimming pool with the beautiful Museum Island in the background; a theater; several beer gardens including one that has an open dance floor in the park; and a wonderful walking path along the Spree.